East Coast–The Carolinas–Anderson, SC

Hopefully you haven’t been waiting with bated breath for the next installment. I’m currently on the 3rd and final leg of my R.A.T (Retired American Tour). Since last post I was busy preparing: buying supplies and bus tickets, reserving campsites and hotel rooms, etc. Today I’m writing from Denver, CO.    I plan to catch up to where I actually am, which means multiple blogs each week for the next several weeks.  I will be unable to include photos from East and West coast R.A.T. blogs until the end of September because all photos are on my computer at home.  For now, you’ll get the words. Enough about the present.  Let’s return to where I left off back in July.

This visit with Margo and Don occurred December 2014.

The 4-hour delay resulting from the train accident brought me to Clemson, SC at 5:39 am.  My friends Don and Margo met me at the station, and we drove to their Anderson, SC home in the dark, cold, early morning hours.  Don and Margo made us a 5-star breakfast and then we all went back to sleep!

I met Margo in Lexington, KY at Second Presbyterian Church a few years before she and Don married.  Margo was the director of Christian Education at Second Pres.  At the time I was a single parent and Margo was always generous and gracious toward my daughter and me.  She is the first person I met who I can say upon reflection walked out the love and grace of Jesus.  Margo never talked about it though.  Humility is one of her many virtues.  She simply walked the walk.  I don’t believe I ever saw Margo angry or impatient.  She was ever pleasant and calm in every circumstance.

Margo brought out the best in everyone,  She was always encouraging which made it a pleasure to do whatever Margo asked of you,  Even if it was something you had never done before and didn’t think you could do.  If Margo believed in you, you believed in yourself.  You always wanted to come through for Margo,

Like the time Margo asked me to “play” Mary Todd Lincoln at the Mary Todd Lincoln House as part of the week-long celebration for the church’s 175th anniversary. Mary’s dad, Robert Smith Todd, was one of the co-founders of Lexington, KY, instrumental in the establishment of Second Presbyterian Church and, the Mary Todd Lincoln House was preserved as an important part of Lexington, KY history.  I read no less than 4 biographies written about Mary so I might portray her accurately.  I could not let Margo down.

One Christmas Margo learned that we didn’t have a Christmas tree,  It was a hard season and I didn’t have a penny to spend on a tree, whether live or artificial,  I don’t remember how she found out, but after the Christmas Eve service was over, Margo brought the church office tree, fully decorated, to our apartment,  “Well, the office is closed for Christmas, so no one will miss it,  Everyone should have a tree on Christmas,”  That’s Margo.  See a need and meet it, no hesitation.

Margo is the reason the R.A.T. was conceived,  It all started with a desire to see Margo again,  I decided that If I was going to travel that far to see Margo, I might as well see everyone else I knew on the east coast,

My visit was too short and I hope to have another chance to visit Margo and Don in Anderson.  Thanks Margo! You’re the tops!

Leave a Reply

