A Bump in the Road

How do people keep up with blogging?  Really.  Being alive takes time and energy even when nothing is going on.  Add social engagements, fulfilling obligations, or promises to help anyone and the agenda becomes unmanageable.  And there is always more than one more thing to do, book to read, place to go.  Once I subscribed to a blog and the author wrote 3 times a day!  In spite of best intentions and great plans, I can’t get it together to write once a month!

Several weeks ago, one of the women in my Bible study called me about an hour before our study was to begin.  As long as I know her, she has drama in her life. Drama is her middle name.  This time the drama was: we’re moving to another state in a week, have to leave the place we’re living in TONIGHT and that’s why “I won’t be coming to Bible study”.

I read in her words a cry for help.  She did not ask me to help but I barged in to solve a problem that was not mine.  I arranged to stay with my brother and SIL in their guest bedroom and gave up my apartment to this woman and her family (husband and 3 kids). They arrived with 3 large storage containers, numerous bags of clothing and linen, luggage, infant seats, etc, etc.

Eight days later they boarded a plane for the east coast and I was so happy to return to my bed.  But not for long because the next night my daughter came into town for a visit and I gave up the bedroom to her and I slept on pull out bed in the living room. That’s when the fun began.

No good deed goes unpunished.

Over the course of the next 15 days, I was bitten 28 times during my sleep.  Bedbugs.  I won’t bore you details about:

    • research done on these parasitical suckers

http://ohsimply.com/7-natural-ways-to-get-rid-of-bed-bugs/
http://m.wikihow.com/Get-Rid-of-Bed-Bugs http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/2014/11/sleeping-tight-bed-bugs-started-bite/ http://www.theawl.com/2010/08/how-i-fought-bedbugs-and-won

    • expense of various non-toxic methods employed to eliminate the bugs
    • expense of homeopathic methods for treating the bites from which I suffered an allergic reaction
    • time traveling to numerous stores to buy the various supplies needed to eliminate and treat
    • numerous loads of laundry–always hot water and high heat for drying!
    • sleepless nights
    • preparing for arrival of exterminator

wpid-20150520_141353.jpg wpid-20150520_141708.jpg

Suffice it to say that I was CONSUMED with the task for over 3 weeks.  In the end, I spent big bucks to hire an exterminator to be as sure as I could be that “they” were gone. One can only hope.

I have not suffered unto death

I do not have any unforgiveness in my heart towards the family I helped.  I had forgotten they had bedbugs. Even if I had remembered that they had bedbugs several months before, I did not have enough knowledge to realize that I was at risk when they moved their worldly possessions into my home.They did not, I’m sure, intentionally bring the bedbugs and probably thought they had eliminated the problem.

Was it a mistake to volunteer to help?  What was my motivation for doing so?  Is the lesson to learn wait for people to ASK for help?  Is that the high road?

I’m not sorry I gave up my home to them.  We hold on too tightly to things and God wants us to love and bless people with everything He gives to us.  Though I question whether or not I was actually hearing from God when I “solved” their problem, what was done was not a bad thing. And it really did help them out.

As to the expense to eradicate and treat, I’m blessed that I have the money to take care of it.  God provided.  I was inconvenienced and a little uncomfortable for a short time.  It’s been 11 nights without a bite and about 7 days of deep and restful sleep.  Now I can get back to reliving my R.A.T. adventures.

Sleep tight and don’t let the bedbugs bite!

3 thoughts on “A Bump in the Road

  1. You are too good my friend….what a generous and loving person you are….glad you got your bed back.
    So just want you to know I will be in Ventura (beach house) July 10-17….would love to see you.
    Anne

    Like

  2. Dang! They need to be voted off the island…

    I had a similar event, someone need my help… The person told me I wasn’t a Christian if I didn’t help them… I told them it wasn’t true, I am Christian, just using wisdom. There is no condemnation to those who are in Christ. He will lead and guide us in the path we should go whether to help or not to help. I thank God for you!!! Thank you so much for sharing…

    Like

Leave a Reply

