Autumn Leaves Between the Sleeps

The only time of year that I absolutely deeply dislike living in what some call “America’s Finest City” is now.  It just isn’t Autumn without red, gold, orange and brown leaves on the trees, the smell of wood burning in the fireplace, a clear blue sky and chill enough in the air to wear two layers of flannel or wool.  I would like to find a place where it is always Autumn.  I would move there in a New York minute.

Of all the places I’ve lived with four seasons (New York, Vermont, Kentucky, Colorado),  Vermont is my favorite.  I felt the best about myself and enjoyed life immensely during the few years I lived in Vermont.  I was married to a really nice boy, but didn’t know it.  Vermont is pretty and old and feels stable and solid.  And Vermont made the covered bridge famous.

I’ve lived through numerous difficult seasons of life since divorcing Artie and leaving Vermont, and so many times I wish I could go back in a time machine and make different choices.  Still, the difficult seasons have made me stronger and I’m beginning to feel comfortable in my own skin. 

I know the weather here is what’s supposed to be so fine about this city.  Perhaps as I get older I’ll appreciate it more.  Until then, I long to drive over country roads through forests covered with colorful leaves.

Seasons of weather, seasons of life, won’t you share how you feel about seasons?

Leave a Reply

